Virginia's Watershed Implementation Plans for the Chesapeake Bay

In accordance with EPA expectations, the jurisdictions' Watershed Implementation Plans (WIPs) are designed to accomplish a set of allocation goals identified in the Chesapeake Bay TMDL. EPA recognizes that it will take time to develop the level of detail the jurisdictions are expected to include in their WIPs. As a result, the WIP development process has been divided into three distinct phases.

Phase I Watershed Implementation Plan

The initial Phase I WIP provided information for EPA to consider when it established wasteload and load allocations within each of the 92 segments listed as impaired. The Phase I WIP includes a description of the authorities, actions, and control measures (to the extent possible) that will be implemented to achieve these point and nonpoint source TMDL allocations. For more information, view the Phase I WIP document.

Phase II Watershed Implementation Plan

The Phase II WIP was developed with the assistance of a Stakeholder Advisory Group convened by the Secretary of Natural Resources, State agencies, localities and Planning District Commissions and submitted to EPA on March 30, 2012. Click here for a copy of the Phase II WIP.

Phase III Watershed Implementation Plan

The Phase III WIP was submitted to EPA in August 2019 and includes refined actions and controls that will be implemented by 2025 to achieve water quality goals that were set in 2010. The report builds upon the achievements that resulted from completion of the Phase I and II WIPs. You can view the Phase III WIP here.

About the RVARC

The Roanoke Valley-Alleghany Regional Commission (RVARC) is one of 21 regional planning agencies in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Member governments include the counties of Alleghany, Botetourt, Craig, Franklin and Roanoke; the cities of Covington, Roanoke, and Salem; and the towns of Clifton Forge, Rocky Mount and Vinton. The mission of the Regional Commission is to be a leader in driving collaboration and strategy within our communities on issues that are critical to the economic growth, quality of life, and the sustainability of this region.

About the UJRC&D Council

The UJRC&D Council was created to initiate, develop and promote regional projects benefiting outdoor recreation, land conservation, water resources and environmental education in a sustainable way in the Upper James River watershed. The UJRC&D covers the counties of Alleghany, Bath, Botetourt, Craig, Highland, and Rockbridge, and the cities of Buena Vista, Covington, and Lexington.

History of the Upper James River Roundtable

The Upper James River Roundtable (UJRR) originally formed in October, 1999 with funding from the Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation (DCR). The initial purpose of the Roundtable was to implement on the ground solutions to assist DCR with the state’s Tributary Strategy. In 2000 when the grant funding from DCR was exhausted, no further funding was secured. In October 2004, the UJRR received a second grant in the amount of $15,000 from DCR to revitalize the UJRR and to resume the organization’s work. Beginning in December 2004 a steering committee was formed and monthly meetings were held to discuss the future of the UJRR as well as the potential for forming a new Resource Conservation and Development (RC&D) area. The steering committee decided at the January 2005 meeting to create a new RC&D that would transition from the UJRR, serving the same geographic area and named the Upper James RC&D. In subsequent meetings the group worked to develop an action plan for the coming year as well as a set of bylaws. The Upper James RC&D is currently seeking incorporation and 501(c)-3 status. DCR renewed the $15,000 grant for another year to fund the projects set forth in the FY2006 action plan. DCR awarded $9,500 in FY2007 to complete and print a brochure, maintain the website, hold two Natural Resources workshops, and finalize the organizational documents required for nonprofit status.

Upper James RC&D Council Member Organizations

Counties: Alleghany, Bath, Botetourt, Craig, Highland, Rockbridge Cities: Covington, Buena Vista Soil & Water Conservation Districts: Mountain SWCD, Mountain Castles SWCD, Natural Bridge SWCD Planning Districts: Central Shenandoah PDC, Roanoke Valley-Alleghany Regional Commission.